Voter Apathy or Leadership Vacuum?


The Globe had an amusing article this morning about voter apathy. Of course the article cited attack ads, message box campaigns and the perception that their vote didn’t count. But from where I sit it, voter apathy is easy to believe in. Despite all the posturing and seemingly endless streams of attack ads decrying their opponents as baby eaters and crooks, politicians seem particularly vacuous in one key area — leadership.

Why should I care about anybody who seems to believe in whatever the polsters have identified as the issues of the day? Because when they get in office they have another agenda and the party platform was discarded as easily as it was picked up. How can one get passionate about issues in a campaign when one knows that these will be abandoned as soon as the campaign is over. Where are their principles? Or more important, do these politicians have a vision for what this country could become that I would be willing to work towards (to say nothing of pay for)? But no, with all the real problems that we have between the economy, official corruption, financial scandals and and endless stream of misery abroad, all I seem to get from my local MP is that he is working hard on getting tough on crime. Oy…

So in the end, why should I or anyone else care? My taxes will go up regardless, the country will still be in a mess, but if politicians are really impotent, maybe solutions would be found by private enterprise and the problems will just go away. Or maybe they will just decide to outsource the whole government to someone, and we will lose even the illusion of control over our institutions? Maybe if ‘none of the above’ had a place on the ballot there would be a way to express our disdain beyond just not voting?

2 thoughts on “Voter Apathy or Leadership Vacuum?

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

